EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitisation and Reprocessing)

EMDR founded by Francine Shapiro is a psychotherapy which uses an eight phase process that enables people to heal from the symptoms of emotional distress caused by disturbing experiences during a life time.

EMDR helps to overcome symptoms associated with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) and other forms of mood disorder such as depression and anxiety disorders.

In an EMDR session the client is asked to focus on a specific memory, a thought, a feeling, a person, body sensations; or even an imagined scenario which induce stress. These are referred to as a target. The client is then asked to follow a set of movements with their eyes guided by the Therapist’s hand whilst focusing on the target. Other stimuli can be used instead of eye movements such as taping or sound.

One of the benefits of EMDR is that the client does not have to disclose or discuss painful thoughts and memories. This allows privacy and gives the client space to really access and resonate with their emotions and thoughts which may be too difficult or distressing to discuss in talking therapies.

EMDR Eight Phase Process

  1. History Taking
  2. Preparation
  3. Assessment
  4. Desensitisation
  5. Installation
  6. Body Scan
  7. Closure
  8. Re-evaluation

The number of EMDR sessions needed varies as it is an individual therapy. It is recommended to be delivered weekly and can take between 6 to 8 sessions, however some people may benefit from fewer sessions.